Vegan café in Woodstock

Plants & Pilates (www.plantsandpilates.uk) is a vegan café in Woodstock where all the food served is freshly prepared and free from animal products, refined sugar, oil, GMOs and other additives, and much of it is organic. The café is open from 8.30am to 4pm Tuesday to Friday and 10am to 2pm Saturday, and can be found at 5 Park Street, Woodstock, OX20 1SJ. The Plants & Pilates philosophy is to eat a plant-based diet and engage in Mind Body exercise, such as pilates and yoga. Conveniently, there is a boutique yoga studio next door.

Naz of Plants & Pilates writes:

Tucked away in the dreamy courtyard of Garret House in Woodstock, near the Church, you’ll find Plants & Pilates; a little eatery, smoothie and tea bar I opened in September 2016 with the encouragement of a few people desperate for real food that was really good for them. My mission was simply to help people feel and look better than ever before, through eating nourishing foods.

In 2015, having suffered with undiagnosed health problems that usually left me feeling completely exhausted for no obvious reason, I decided something had to be done. As a devout carnivore, going vegan wasn’t the most obvious choice. But, I was desperate to feel better and had nothing to lose. It was the best thing I’ve ever done.

Within a few weeks, I had more energy and clarity than ever before and felt more comfortable in my skin. It baffled me that it had taken me so long to see my food as such powerful fuel. Why had the doctor never told me to look at my diet? I knew from then that I wanted to help other people feel better through understanding food.

I started cooking from scratch, reading everything I could about nutrition, took a macrobiotic cooking course, and I became certified in Plant-based Nutrition. I also reconnected with pilates and yoga, and found that the way to feeling good was to eat a mostly plant-based diet and take part in as much mind-body exercise as possible.

It was when I started doing a vegan meal delivery service that I met Suzanne, who owns Downdog & Crow, the most beautiful yoga studio you will ever see. As we became friends, she told me that she had always imagined there would be a café that people could go to before and after yoga in the courtyard. With quite a bit of nudging and pushing away of fears by Suzanne and the people mentioned above, Plants & Pilates the eatery, smoothie and tea bar was born.

All our food is free from meat, fish, dairy, eggs and refined sugar. Everything is made from scratch by myself, using familiar ingredients. No additives or nasties, just pure, whole foods that will fuel your body. You’ll find daily salads, grains and soups; smashed avocado on sourdough with lime, chilli and Himalayan salt; fresh smoothies; homemade maple and pecan granola; almond mylk lattes; ceremonial grade matcha; turmeric lattes and 27 different types of tea; not to mention sweet (but free from refined sugar) treats such as fudgey maca brownies and our almost famous peanut butter choc chip cookies.

In the short few months that we have been open, a real community of inspiring people continue to gather in our little cafe. I hope this will continue and grow, and eventually deliver food to local businesses and homes too.

plantspilates_dishes

Leave a Reply

OxVeg

Oxfordshire's local veggie group

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

